Launch of Patreon

Just letting people know I’m writing content for Patreon, including a brand-new serialized novel called WHERE THE DEAD LIE and a fictional travelogue called GHOSTS AND MONSTERS OF NEW JERSEY!  Click HERE.

Pledge $1 per month and you’ll have access to all sorts of behind-the-scenes stuff like sneak peeks at forthcoming works, excerpts from works in progress, outlines, story notes, and more. A minimum of one will be posted per month.

Pledge $5 per month and you’ll have access everything available at the $1 tier, as well as access to my original serialized novel WHERE THE DEAD LIE. A minimum of one chapter will be posted per month.

Pledge $10 per month and you’ll have access to everything available at the $1 and $5 tiers, plus access to GHOSTS AND MONSTERS OF NEW JERSEY — a fictional travelogue based on the mythos of my novels and stories. A minimum of one travelogue entry will be posted per month.

Thanks for supporting me!

Appearances, Interviews, and the WiHM Round-Up

Just a quick note on appearances and interviews, folks.  Currently, I have two confirmed appearances:

March 18, 2017
Jimmy’s Famous Seafood
8pm
6526 Holabird Ave
Baltimore, MD 21214

August 3-5, 2017
Ghost Town Writers Retreat
Georgetown Mountain Inn
1100 Rose Street PMB 277
Georgetown, CO 80444
(303) 569-3201
*The Conference has opened up for ticket sales with a special introductory rate of $125 for the conference fee. Tickets are limited to 150, and the best hotel rooms will go fast.

 

 

 

 

 

In case you missed the series of articles and interviews I did for February’s Women In Horror Month, here’s a round-up:

Essay on RA for All Horror Blog

Interview with Manuscripts Burn (courtesy of Stephen Kosenewski)

Essay on Cemetery Dance Online

 

Also, I recently had the pleasure of appearig as a guest on the Three Guys with Beards Podcast, where I talk movies, books, my greatest fears, and the changing roles of women in horror.  Give a listen.

For Nook and Kobo Users

Just a quick update for Nook and Kobo users — likely by the end of the week, all of my currently published novels will be available through Nook and Kobo as well as Kindle, with some updates to files to make navigation easier. When they are officially on sale, I’ll post here to let folks know. Hope you’ll consider picking one up.

My novel Savage Woods, which is now available for pre-order, will also be available through these formats as well as Google Play and iTunes.

Night Moves Cover Reveal

Night Moves, my collection of short fiction, to be released by Post Mortem Press in July, now has a shiny new cover which delights me:

night-moves

 

This is a collection of rare to impossible-to-find short stories and novelettes, which includes:

The Mime
No Songs for the Stars
Shadow Puppets
Baby Teeth
The Last Things to Go (co-written with Brian Keene)
Okiku
The Floodgates of Willowhill
The Hundred Years’ Sleep
The Anathema Cell
The collection should go up for pre-order soon; I’ll let folks know when it does.

SAVAGE WOODS Available for Pre-Order and Other Book News

I’m very excited to say that the publication date my newest novel from Kensington, SAVAGE WOODS, will be September 26th.  It’s got Irish folklore, Russian folklore, Native American mythology, the occult, and tree monsters attacking people in the Pine Barrens of New Jersey.

Sounds like fun?  You can now pre-order it here.  I had as much fun writing this book as I did THRALL, and I’m really excited that it’s on its way to publication.

Here’s the official back cover copy:

Bram Stoker award-nominated author Mary SanGiovanni returns with a terrifying tale of madness, murder, and mind-shattering evil . . .

Nilhollow—six-hundred-plus acres of haunted woods in New Jersey’s Pine Barrens—is the stuff of urban legend. Amid tales of tree spirits and all-powerful forest gods are frightening accounts of hikers who went insane right before taking their own lives. It is here that Julia Russo flees when her violent ex-boyfriend runs her off the road . . . here that she vanishes without a trace.

State Trooper Peter Grainger has witnessed unspeakable things that have broken other men.

But he has to find Julia and can’t turn back now. Every step takes him closer to an ugliness that won’t be appeased—a centuries-old, devouring hatred rising up to eviscerate humankind. Waiting, feeding, surviving. It’s unstoppable. And its time has come.

And here’s the cover:

Other upcoming projects include:

A WEIRDISH WILD SPACE is a non-fiction collection about horror in fiction, cinema, art, and video games; being a mother, a writer, a lover, a daughter, and a sister; remembrances of friends and mentors, the publishing business, academic analyses of the craft, and more.  This includes the aforementioned Women in Horror essay.  Brian Keene writes in his newsletter that he thinks “it’s some of her best writing. Her critical essays on film and books and the historical phases of horror bring to mind the writings of David J. Schow and J.F. Gonzalez. Her writing advice is in the vein of Thomas F. Montelone and David Morrell. And her more personal essays show (if I can say this without some asshat out there screaming nepotism) the influence of having myself and Nick Mamatas as friends over the years.”  Publication info will be announced soon.

NIGHT MOVES – this is a collection of rare to impossible-to-find short stories and novelettes, to be published by Post Mortem Press in July.

A QUIET PLACE AT WORLD’S END is a post-apocalyptic novella about a world where aliens that can mimic human form, memories, and speech have wiped out nearly all of the human race.  The only survivors are the organically insane, the catatonic, and the dying.  Hidden away in a small church on the outskirts of Town’s End, PA, a group of survivors discover the value of life and fight for the dignity and quality of what they have left when an insidious evil finds its way into their midst. (tentatively due out from Cemetery Dance, date TBD)

I am also working on a sort of experimental collection of all brand-new, never-before-published short stories loosely tied together, called THE HOTEL EREBUS.

This September marks the 10-year anniversary of THE HOLLOWER, and Thunderstorm Books will be printing a limited edition novella of mine, currently untitled, which will be a prequel to the HOLLOWER trilogy, detailing the story of Max Feinstein and his interaction with the eponymous Hollower of the first novel.

I’ve got something else in the works which may involve what I think of as the lost chapters — a number of short stories about characters related but mentioned only in passing to the central plots of nearly every one of my novels.  It’s a habit I’ve picked up, a style thing, I guess, where I make passing references to others who have run afoul of the monsters in my books — friends of the main characters, acquaintances, case files of their local police, etc.  I’d like to tell those stories.

Another novella is in the works for an upcoming anthology, as well as a few short stories, and a new novel tentatively titled THE DOOR IN ZAREPATH.

CHILLS Release

Just a quick note to let folks know where they can pick up a copy of CHILLS, due to hit bookstores on Tuesday, September 27th:

Chills

“True Detective” meets H.P. Lovecraft in this chilling novel of murder, mystery, and slow-mounting dread from acclaimed author Mary SanGiovanni . . .

It begins with a freak snowstorm in May. Hit hardest is the rural town of Colby, Connecticut. Schools and businesses are closed, powerlines are down, and police detective Jack Glazier has found a body in the snow. It appears to be the victim of a bizarre ritual murder. It won’t be the last. As the snow piles up, so do the sacrifices. Cut off from the rest of the world, Glazier teams up with an occult crime specialist to uncover a secret society hiding in their midst.

The gods they worship are unthinkable. The powers they summon are unstoppable. And the things they will do to the good people of Colby are utterly, horribly unspeakable…

If you haven’t yet pre-ordered a copy of CHILLS and would like to, here are some places you can find one:

Amazon KINDLE

Amazon PAPERBACK

iTunes

GooglePlay

Kobo

B&N NOOK

B&N PAPERBACK

Thank you to everyone who pre-ordered one — it is very much appreciated.