SAVAGE WOODS Available for Pre-Order and Other Book News

I’m very excited to say that the publication date my newest novel from Kensington, SAVAGE WOODS, will be September 26th.  It’s got Irish folklore, Russian folklore, Native American mythology, the occult, and tree monsters attacking people in the Pine Barrens of New Jersey.

Sounds like fun?  You can now pre-order it here.  I had as much fun writing this book as I did THRALL, and I’m really excited that it’s on its way to publication.

Here’s the official back cover copy:

Bram Stoker award-nominated author Mary SanGiovanni returns with a terrifying tale of madness, murder, and mind-shattering evil . . .

Nilhollow—six-hundred-plus acres of haunted woods in New Jersey’s Pine Barrens—is the stuff of urban legend. Amid tales of tree spirits and all-powerful forest gods are frightening accounts of hikers who went insane right before taking their own lives. It is here that Julia Russo flees when her violent ex-boyfriend runs her off the road . . . here that she vanishes without a trace.

State Trooper Peter Grainger has witnessed unspeakable things that have broken other men.

But he has to find Julia and can’t turn back now. Every step takes him closer to an ugliness that won’t be appeased—a centuries-old, devouring hatred rising up to eviscerate humankind. Waiting, feeding, surviving. It’s unstoppable. And its time has come.

And here’s the cover:

Other upcoming projects include:

A WEIRDISH WILD SPACE is a non-fiction collection about horror in fiction, cinema, art, and video games; being a mother, a writer, a lover, a daughter, and a sister; remembrances of friends and mentors, the publishing business, academic analyses of the craft, and more.  This includes the aforementioned Women in Horror essay.  Brian Keene writes in his newsletter that he thinks “it’s some of her best writing. Her critical essays on film and books and the historical phases of horror bring to mind the writings of David J. Schow and J.F. Gonzalez. Her writing advice is in the vein of Thomas F. Montelone and David Morrell. And her more personal essays show (if I can say this without some asshat out there screaming nepotism) the influence of having myself and Nick Mamatas as friends over the years.”  Publication info will be announced soon.

NIGHT MOVES – this is a collection of rare to impossible-to-find short stories and novelettes, to be published by Post Mortem Press in July.

A QUIET PLACE AT WORLD’S END is a post-apocalyptic novella about a world where aliens that can mimic human form, memories, and speech have wiped out nearly all of the human race.  The only survivors are the organically insane, the catatonic, and the dying.  Hidden away in a small church on the outskirts of Town’s End, PA, a group of survivors discover the value of life and fight for the dignity and quality of what they have left when an insidious evil finds its way into their midst. (tentatively due out from Cemetery Dance, date TBD)

I am also working on a sort of experimental collection of all brand-new, never-before-published short stories loosely tied together, called THE HOTEL EREBUS.

This September marks the 10-year anniversary of THE HOLLOWER, and Thunderstorm Books will be printing a limited edition novella of mine, currently untitled, which will be a prequel to the HOLLOWER trilogy, detailing the story of Max Feinstein and his interaction with the eponymous Hollower of the first novel.

I’ve got something else in the works which may involve what I think of as the lost chapters — a number of short stories about characters related but mentioned only in passing to the central plots of nearly every one of my novels.  It’s a habit I’ve picked up, a style thing, I guess, where I make passing references to others who have run afoul of the monsters in my books — friends of the main characters, acquaintances, case files of their local police, etc.  I’d like to tell those stories.

Another novella is in the works for an upcoming anthology, as well as a few short stories, and a new novel tentatively titled THE DOOR IN ZAREPATH.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s