Mo*Con Report and GSHW Appearance Reminder

I just got back from Mo*Con yesterday. It was an amazing time.  I laughed until my sides hurt, and also talked about writing and the impact of race, religion, spirituality, sex/gender, orientation, and personal experience on our work.  I had a wonderful time talking shop and cracking jokes with Maurice and Sally Broaddus, Nate Southard, Mary Robinette Kowal, Chesya Burke, Rodney, Jim Cobb, Jerry Gordon, Micheles Lee and Pendergast, Michael West, Gary Braunbeck, Lucy Snyder, and so, so many more.  It really was a privilege to have been invited as a Guest of Honor.  Thank you especially to Maurice, Sally, and Rodney, and to the whole Mo*Con team for making my first time as Guest of Honor anywhere so special.

Speaking of appearances, for those of you in the NJ/eastern PA area, I will be giving a talk to my old beloved writing group, the Garden State Horror Writers, next Saturday, May 12th.  The meeting starts at 11am at the East Brunswick Public Library, and I will probably go on around 12pm.  My topic is The Esoteric Do’s and Don’t’s of Writing.  Basically, I’ll be talking about things writers do that hurt their careers and how to avoid these pitfalls. I will also offer some less commonly known advice to help writers go from slush pile to published.  This is a great group and I’m delighted to have been invited to talk to them.  So if you’re in the area, come on down.  Also, Brian will be with me in an unofficial capacity, and both of us will sign books after the meeting for folks if you’d like us to.

Leave a Reply

