For Nook and Kobo Users

Just a quick update for Nook and Kobo users — likely by the end of the week, all of my currently published novels will be available through Nook and Kobo as well as Kindle, with some updates to files to make navigation easier. When they are officially on sale, I’ll post here to let folks know. Hope you’ll consider picking one up.

My novel Savage Woods, which is now available for pre-order, will also be available through these formats as well as Google Play and iTunes.

Night Moves Cover Reveal

Night Moves, my collection of short fiction, to be released by Post Mortem Press in July, now has a shiny new cover which delights me:

night-moves

 

This is a collection of rare to impossible-to-find short stories and novelettes, which includes:

The Mime
No Songs for the Stars
Shadow Puppets
Baby Teeth
The Last Things to Go (co-written with Brian Keene)
Okiku
The Floodgates of Willowhill
The Hundred Years’ Sleep
The Anathema Cell
The collection should go up for pre-order soon; I’ll let folks know when it does.

SAVAGE WOODS Available for Pre-Order and Other Book News

I’m very excited to say that the publication date my newest novel from Kensington, SAVAGE WOODS, will be September 26th.  It’s got Irish folklore, Russian folklore, Native American mythology, the occult, and tree monsters attacking people in the Pine Barrens of New Jersey.

Sounds like fun?  You can now pre-order it here.  I had as much fun writing this book as I did THRALL, and I’m really excited that it’s on its way to publication.

Here’s the official back cover copy:

Bram Stoker award-nominated author Mary SanGiovanni returns with a terrifying tale of madness, murder, and mind-shattering evil . . .

Nilhollow—six-hundred-plus acres of haunted woods in New Jersey’s Pine Barrens—is the stuff of urban legend. Amid tales of tree spirits and all-powerful forest gods are frightening accounts of hikers who went insane right before taking their own lives. It is here that Julia Russo flees when her violent ex-boyfriend runs her off the road . . . here that she vanishes without a trace.

State Trooper Peter Grainger has witnessed unspeakable things that have broken other men.

But he has to find Julia and can’t turn back now. Every step takes him closer to an ugliness that won’t be appeased—a centuries-old, devouring hatred rising up to eviscerate humankind. Waiting, feeding, surviving. It’s unstoppable. And its time has come.

And here’s the cover:

Other upcoming projects include:

A WEIRDISH WILD SPACE is a non-fiction collection about horror in fiction, cinema, art, and video games; being a mother, a writer, a lover, a daughter, and a sister; remembrances of friends and mentors, the publishing business, academic analyses of the craft, and more.  This includes the aforementioned Women in Horror essay.  Brian Keene writes in his newsletter that he thinks “it’s some of her best writing. Her critical essays on film and books and the historical phases of horror bring to mind the writings of David J. Schow and J.F. Gonzalez. Her writing advice is in the vein of Thomas F. Montelone and David Morrell. And her more personal essays show (if I can say this without some asshat out there screaming nepotism) the influence of having myself and Nick Mamatas as friends over the years.”  Publication info will be announced soon.

NIGHT MOVES – this is a collection of rare to impossible-to-find short stories and novelettes, to be published by Post Mortem Press in July.

A QUIET PLACE AT WORLD’S END is a post-apocalyptic novella about a world where aliens that can mimic human form, memories, and speech have wiped out nearly all of the human race.  The only survivors are the organically insane, the catatonic, and the dying.  Hidden away in a small church on the outskirts of Town’s End, PA, a group of survivors discover the value of life and fight for the dignity and quality of what they have left when an insidious evil finds its way into their midst. (tentatively due out from Cemetery Dance, date TBD)

I am also working on a sort of experimental collection of all brand-new, never-before-published short stories loosely tied together, called THE HOTEL EREBUS.

This September marks the 10-year anniversary of THE HOLLOWER, and Thunderstorm Books will be printing a limited edition novella of mine, currently untitled, which will be a prequel to the HOLLOWER trilogy, detailing the story of Max Feinstein and his interaction with the eponymous Hollower of the first novel.

I’ve got something else in the works which may involve what I think of as the lost chapters — a number of short stories about characters related but mentioned only in passing to the central plots of nearly every one of my novels.  It’s a habit I’ve picked up, a style thing, I guess, where I make passing references to others who have run afoul of the monsters in my books — friends of the main characters, acquaintances, case files of their local police, etc.  I’d like to tell those stories.

Another novella is in the works for an upcoming anthology, as well as a few short stories, and a new novel tentatively titled THE DOOR IN ZAREPATH.

CHILLS Release

Just a quick note to let folks know where they can pick up a copy of CHILLS, due to hit bookstores on Tuesday, September 27th:

Chills

“True Detective” meets H.P. Lovecraft in this chilling novel of murder, mystery, and slow-mounting dread from acclaimed author Mary SanGiovanni . . .

It begins with a freak snowstorm in May. Hit hardest is the rural town of Colby, Connecticut. Schools and businesses are closed, powerlines are down, and police detective Jack Glazier has found a body in the snow. It appears to be the victim of a bizarre ritual murder. It won’t be the last. As the snow piles up, so do the sacrifices. Cut off from the rest of the world, Glazier teams up with an occult crime specialist to uncover a secret society hiding in their midst.

The gods they worship are unthinkable. The powers they summon are unstoppable. And the things they will do to the good people of Colby are utterly, horribly unspeakable…

If you haven’t yet pre-ordered a copy of CHILLS and would like to, here are some places you can find one:

Amazon KINDLE

Amazon PAPERBACK

iTunes

GooglePlay

Kobo

B&N NOOK

B&N PAPERBACK

Thank you to everyone who pre-ordered one — it is very much appreciated.

Goodreads Giveaway of CHILLS

For the next five days, Goodreads is inviting its members to enter into a drawing for a free copy of Chills (to be released September  27th by Kensington/Lyrical).  Enter HERE for a chance to win a free copy.  (Two winners will be chosen, I believe at random.)

Chills

Described as “True Detective” meets H.P. Lovecraft in this chilling novel of murder, mystery, and slow-mounting dread,” the novel is currently available for preorder at Amazon in both e-book and paperback formats.

Some News

Hi folks.  It’s been a busy last couple of months, what with Sprout graduating and getting him ready to head off to college.  It’s also been a busy time for writing projects, with a novel, novella, and short story collection all due at various points from now until the end of this year.  There are some events and promotions coming up for the interested:

Provided this chest cold doesn’t smite me verily and Biblically, this Saturday, July 9th, I’ll be at York Emporium’s Horrible Saturday event with fellow authors Brian Keene, Chet Williamson, Kelli Owen, Bob Ford, Rachel Autumn Deering, Lesley Conner, Stephen Kozeniewski, and Jason Pokopec. There will be book signing, a panel, a movie screening, a scream contest, and more.

Horrible Saturday – York Emporium
July 9, 10am-6pm (signing from 12-4pm)
343 W Market St
York, PA
(717) 846-2866

Marking a return to NY publishing, my novel Chills is due out from Kensington/Lyrical Underground on September 27th.  However, it’s available for preorder now.  You won’t be charged until it actually ships.  There will be a number of interesting things happening this fall in relation to this book’s release.  Details will be here as they become available.

Also, regarding Chills, next week Goodreads will be hosting a giveaway next week, 7/10-7/20. Goodreads members will be able to enter in order to win a free copy of the book. I am informed there will be two winners. Details will be appearing HERE.

If you happen to be a Bookbub member, you can follow what’s going on with Chills and other books HERE.

More news to come!